Kenyan in and around Cape Town

A rat with a cuter outfit!


Remember Company gardens? The place with the pigeons and yellow yellows? Another common phenomena here is the squirrel. Their life purpose is to search, collect, stockpile, and eat nuts and to avoid being run over by cars. While shooting these squirrels I had this fear that I would scare the wrong squirrel into making a distress call, find myself surrounded and subsequently attacked by an army of squirrels.


I can envision it now, this attack of the squirrels…I’m innocently walking about the gardens, taking pictures … probably daydreaming, when all of a sudden I tramp unacceptably close to this overreacting squirrel, and I am suddenly in the midst of a squirrel army.Gray-coated platoons of nut-bearing squirrels align themselves in the branches of the surrounding trees. Others have come to rescue their defenseless nut-gathering ally and encircle me by land. I have the accidental army on all sides.


Then the General Squirrel gives the command to aim and fire. I am then bombarded by acorn after acorn. They pelt me with these little makeshift bullets as the land army rushes in to reclaim the fired missiles and restock their supply.

I have no idea how to escape this type of situation. So, now that I think of it, I should probably develop a strategy … After gaining all this education, I now possess and have the ability to pass on a little squirrel wisdom: “You can’t be friends with a squirrel! A squirrel is just a rat with a cuter outfit”

Leave a Reply

