Kenyan in and around Cape Town

Boys don’t grow up!! period!


Looong before I met my wife I used to collect hand made toy cars… in particular VW beetles made from wood, plastic, metals etc. Now I look back and think maybe it was a premonition of sorts because the 1st beetle I drove belonged to my then girlfriend (now wife 🙂 ) … and therefore I now believe my toys were leading me somewhere 🙂
Bought somewhere in Mpumalanga,
made from Mabati (Part of me is still in denial that I bought this wherease we made these with ease growing up … complete with rubber tyres (read patipati cut-out)


Keshi 1
From Mpumalanga


Lots of hangers and ‘slippers’ disappeared to make such
Growing up in ‘Seti’


This would take abit of skill to make
This was left to the likes of Kanoi and his brothers to make … complete with lights and all


Play Station, X0Box, Wii etc were not even a dream then
The only video game I knew growing up was ‘Donkey Kong’ and ‘Western Bar’ and Pacman

4 responses

  1. and I’m hoping you’ll continue to collect, period! 🙂

    June 28, 2011 at 07:03

  2. Maganjo

    And I hope you continue to collect 🙂 Period!

    June 28, 2011 at 07:01

  3. I love your close-ups/macro stuff! and that a cool throwback!

    June 24, 2011 at 20:55

  4. Great beetles, great photos, great post!

    June 24, 2011 at 20:19

Leave a Reply

