Kenyan in and around Cape Town

Nikita 100 [01 of 4]


I recently published my 100th image on my ‘Nikita Chronicles’ album and for the rest of this week I will blog my 16 favourite images from that album; Thanks to all yea who have inspired me thus far and continue to do so through your comments, criticism, models etc 1 love!

[01] Someday when am 90
My wife and I have had so many great moments this past few months looking for places to photograph, enjoying sunsets and sometimes just enjoying God’s wonderful creation. I had one such moment on sabbath in Sedgefield watching this lake, and it occurred to me that I’m an old-fashioned guy… someday when am 90, I want to be sitting on a porch, rocking chair, big cup of tea in hand, my wife knitting sweaters beside me looking at some lake … … somewhat like the old man in Legends of the Fall … thinking to myself “honey we made it! we grew old together”

Swartvlei, Sedgefield,
Garden route

[02] Wilderness beach
Off the route 62 on the wine route is the small seaside town of Wilderness or Wildernis in afrikaans. Wilderness is renowned for it tranquil sea and beaches which stretch on forever, and has become an Internationally sought after holiday resort. Wilderness is also surrounded by many rivers and natural lakes and lagoons. This makes it a great spot for water sport enthusiasts, who flock there regularly! definitely going back there … awesome for honeymooners for all yeah looking for honeymoon destinations …naked and unashamed was taken here.

Wilderness beach,
Wilderness

[03] A bird in hand …
Growing up we ‘hunted’ pigeons for fun. My neighbor was sick one Sunday and so could not come with us. So after a succesful hunt we did the honorable thing; we packed a ‘dush’ drumstick in a matchbox for him (after roasting the rest of the bird of cos)! Company gardens would have been like heaven for us … pigeons feed off the palm of your hand. Back then I shot with a ‘feya’ (slingshot), now I shoot with a Camera

Company gardens,
Cape Town CBD


‘what a wonderful picture….’Judy Muigai
‘With this, my friend, you just killed it! Love the blog posting even more. Keep up!’ Mutahi Chiira

[04]Here ends another day
“Here ends another day, during which I have had eyes, ears, hands and the great world around me. Tomorrow begins another day. Why am I allowed two?”
Ahhhh Bliss, this is beautiful. I will be dusting off my lens and trying to give you compe….Judy Muigai

‘Wow, very nice…I love the warmth, clarity of the silhouettes and composition. In other words, the photo came out really well!! and I second Mutua on that excursion vibe ;-)’ Njeri Gakuo

5 responses

  1. I love the waves on the sandy beach. It’s been a while since I saw and smelled an ocean …

    July 8, 2011 at 22:13

  2. The 1st two are my ‘so far’ favorites! Keep up the growth!

    July 6, 2011 at 10:52

  3. Anonymous

    The 1st two are my ‘so far’ favorites! Keep up the growth!

    July 6, 2011 at 10:50

  4. This has been a great journey, and as one of the few who featured in the posted pics…..i say Keep up the good work, will now wait for my shoot =).

    July 5, 2011 at 17:04

    • Thanx Kui- shoot coming right up!!

      July 6, 2011 at 09:39

Leave a Reply

