Kenyan in and around Cape Town

Journey of the expectant father


Today’s post was taken in a proffesional studio (New-age potraits) and is a moment in time for 2-in-love expectant parents!!
Lights … camera … action!

Its been a while since I was here but soon reasons why will be evident. My relatives would say “… sasa unafanya kazi inaonekana” (literally… “we can see what you’ve been upto!”). A few weeks from today I will become the artist formally known as “kgee”!! My wife and I are on an exciting pre natal journey with many diverse and sometimes extreme experiences … you would have to talk to me in private for the juice 🙂

In between the sometimes outrageous cravings, the supportive pot belly I have started to grow, the emotions, doctors visits, scans, looking for baby names, buying baby stuff (I never had so much shopping done for me in 1 go), maternity exercises etc etc we took sometime off to put on record this milestone in our incredible journey together. I am blessed with a beautiful wife (And am not saying this just bcoz its a nice thing to say … my wife trully is drop dead gorgeous! … ata nimelamba mchanga 🙂 … she has a heart molded with utmost delicacy and on God’s best day. Every bit of her, both in and out was shaped with finesse! There is no doubt in my mind that she will make a most wonderful mother to our children. Because of her I think I will make a good dad!

THE BABY DREAMS:
The other day I had dream, one of many I have been having of late … I dreamt that I took our baby to Cape Town Convention Center and was explaining details and how the building came together to be what it is now. Am I already seeing an architect/ engineer? Sometimes as am driving and I see people from all walks of life. Rich men, poor men, thieves, sportsmen, high flying women … I think about all of my friends, my relatives and people I have met in my journey on this planet… and I wonder to myself “who is our baby going to be like?” Is she going to be an award winning student … will we one day sit, proud parents somewhere applauding her excellence? will she make a good wife to a good man someday? will he make a father and husband after God’s own heart? Will he or she excel and be fruitful and abound in wisdom?

THE DOUBTS & THE ANXIETY:
Other times I wonder whether am a good supporting expectant father! Really its not easy being a father to be … you wish for your wife’s experience of your unborn child. Many time I see her smiling to herself. When I ask she says that the baby is tickling her from inside. How I wish I could share those baby movements 1st hand … but then again being pregnant cant be easy … what with the awkward sleeping styles and patterns?! what of the midnight snacks … the walks around the room when sleep evades you? How about the cravings, the enormous appetite, the fatigue and the extra weight? Yet we call women the weaker sex …! If men got pregnant, we would have discovered a way to give birth in under 1 month!!! I don’t doubt that! … yet in-spite of all that my wife still says “Am gonna miss being pregnant :)”

THE DAY DREAMS:
If there is one moment that constantly plays in my mind, its the day I will sit with our baby in a very quiet and serene environment … a very quiet and peaceful place. Mummy will be sleeping quietly beside us or on my lap and the 2 of us will just be staring into nothingness or at one of Gods wonderful creations. And with each passing moment my baby will just come closer and closer and find a comfortable place under my wings. Then we shall experience this amazing sunset, or this amazing waterfall or some other magical moment and I will start to explain to our baby how God created heaven and earth and all that is in them. Then after some peaceful silence I see our child turn to whisper something in my ear … “daddy … I love you!”

1 Blessed is the man that feareth the LORD;
that walketh in his ways.
2 For thou shalt eat the labor of thine hands:
happy shalt thou be,
and it shall be well with thee.

3 Thy wife shall be as a fruitful vine
by the sides of thine house:
thy children like olive plants
round about thy table.

4 Behold, that thus shall the man be blessed that feareth the LORD.

5 The LORD shall bless thee out of Zion:
and thou shalt see the good of Jerusalem
all the days of thy life.
6 Yea, thou shalt see thy children’s children,
and peace upon Israel.

18 responses

  1. Elisha Gobbah

    I pray that the Lord help you to be the parents he experts to be, even for the unborn (remember the Manoah experience).In this day and age there are very few couples who make marriage attractive,and, l must say you are one of the few …!!! Enjoy the experience , GOD BLESS .

    July 31, 2012 at 21:20

    • Thx Elisha! May God be praised!

      August 1, 2012 at 08:51

  2. Anonymous

    May God bless your journey into parenthood, Keshi and Kgee. It brings you closer to God, your parents and each moment is like no other. May you be blessed always as a family .xo

    July 25, 2012 at 14:34

    • Thank you someone for your blessings and encouragement

      July 25, 2012 at 14:56

  3. Christine Kiama

    This is so amazing….fighting back those tears of joy here…..I’m so happy and excited for you guys! Moses, did you stuff something under our shirt ama that’s the “supportive pot belly”:-). Wangeci…time surely flies…you appear to be almost! We will be praying for you both that the labor and delivery goes smoothly (and that Moses doesn’t faint during the process:-) ). God bless you abundantly and grant you the wisdom, insight, patience and love that will see you through parenthood.

    July 23, 2012 at 19:54

    • Thanx Christine … and I ain’t gonna faint … am a man of steel! we are almost there … my app says 1 week 6days to go but we are well aware babies are no respecters of apps!!

      July 24, 2012 at 10:50

  4. Anonymous

    you are both simply amazing!!!!i love the passion you both have may God bless you indeeed you are truly an inspiration huggs!!!

    July 19, 2012 at 15:48

    • Thanks someone!!! God bless you too!

      July 19, 2012 at 16:48

  5. Mercy

    Absolutely wonderful insight into your heart and mind…may God meet your desires as you trust him to give you wisdom to raise her. we love and miss you guys. love the pics by the way…kwanza the one she is kanyagaing you….angekukalia:-)

    July 15, 2012 at 17:58

    • akinikalia I will be finished!!! Thanx for your encouraging words! We miss you guyz also!! Waiting for yu guyz to come back and teach baby 101

      July 16, 2012 at 09:08

  6. Anonymous

    awwwwwww this is so sweet kgee and keshi you will make wonderful parents and i wish you God’s blessings in this journey.The joy you will feel when you hold your baby will be worthwhile and the love expressed by the two of you will definately trickle down to the baby

    July 11, 2012 at 08:03

    • Thanx ‘someone’ for believing in us!!!

      July 11, 2012 at 09:11

  7. Wangeci Gathua

    My love, You have been the best expectant father ever! this journey has been awesome because of the unconditional love and support you have given me….i always thank God for blessing me with you….even in those moments of tiredness, cravings, emotions and all, you have always stood there besides me, given me your shoulder to lie on, your hand to hold and comfort in your warm embrace. You have balanced your work, family and other responsibilities so well that there is no day i have felt alone:-) you are a blessing in my life and i love you so much!..I have no doubts that you will make a wonderful, awesome, loving, caring father to our child. Our baby is the luckiest baby to have you as the father!! and i’m definitely blessed to have you as my husband. We both (baby and I) love you so much.xoxoxoxo

    July 3, 2012 at 17:14

  8. Anonymous

    aaaaaw sniff sniff >>*balancing tears *
    im bila words !absolutellllllllllly amazing both the words and the pics..Keshi you glow,you are radiant and blessed
    …kgee the photo of you preggers kills me hehehee
    God bless your family – I know you guys will make fantastic parents

    June 17, 2012 at 16:30

    • Thanx … from your lips to God’s ears!!!

      June 21, 2012 at 15:56

  9. passionita

    Happy Father’s day! Kesh looking radiant! congrats ya’ll

    June 16, 2012 at 08:59

  10. Happy Father’s day! 🙂

    June 15, 2012 at 15:22

    • Thanx!! that makes you the 1st person (ever) to wish me a happy fathers day!

      June 15, 2012 at 15:57

Leave a Reply

