Kenyan in and around Cape Town

Sleepless nights #firsttimedaddy


Apps for the clueless expectant daddy
Some apps I never thought I would use have turned out to be my best- What to expect when you are expecting – with the daily and weekly updates, I have become knowledgeable in the biology of my expectant wife and growing unborn child. Our baby has grown from the size of a pea to, blueberries, medium green olive, prunes, large plum and now a large melon! I cant identify these but hopefully someone will translate these to more familiar fruits and veggies like, ngwashe, nduma, pilipili hoho 🙂 etc

TO MY UNBORN CHILD:
Time is moving slowly,
The day is almost here.

The anxiety and joy is building up,
For my baby will soon appear.

I can’t wait to see your smiling face,
And hold your little hand.
Just then I’ll know deep inside
that you’re my little angel.

I have so much to share with you
day after day.
And to you my baby I will give my love
in each and every way

We are eagerly awaiting to meet you and share with you our wonderful home!

This last face of pregnancy has largely been about fatigue and lack of sleep. Carrying a large sized melon (malenge) is no easy task, and I am often moved and touched at what my wife has had to go through and by extension appreciate what my mother went through. The penguin walk and the back aches are now commonplace and the anxiety of the impending birth sometimes gets to us. All in all we are encouraged by the promises of God that he shall always be with us and that His face will always shine upon us and give us peace.

In picture speak I am trying to put to record these sleepless nights when I am woken up by movement in the room only to find my dear preggy reading a book, on fours in bed, drinking water, walking around and stretching or worse still when she starts poking her fingers in my nose, ears, mouth or trying to open my eyes … Aaaargh!!! Meanwhile I will be having this dreams where strange animals are going into my body through my nose and ears only to wake up and find my sleepless wife occupying herself with my face. I was once woken up by the sounds of someone munching and when I opened my eyes she offered me a biscuit (AT 3AM!!!!) …

PRAYER FOR MY WIFE
The promise: Shall I bring to the time of birth and not cause delivery?” says the LORD. “Shall I who cause delivery shut up the womb? says Your God ~Is 66:9
We fervently entreat You Who loves mankind to bless this Your servant, who is with child, granting her help and comfort at this trying time. Ease her labor and bring her to a safe delivery. Yes, O Lord, open the treasury of Your mercies and Your compassion to her, and let her give birth to a fruitful vine to be a cause of joy to her all the days of her life. For You are blessed, together with Your Only-begotten Son, and Your Most-holy, Good and Life-creating Spirit, now and forever. Amen

Child you have an eager family waiting for you … and you will be treasured and celebrated and admired. The next chapter of our humble family story is unfolding. I would like to ask you to hurry–Mummy is tired, and wobbly, and ready to meet you soon. However, we will wait patiently for you, enjoying you on the inside. Come as you are, my dearest son or daughter. And come when you are ready! Meanwhile mummy and I are praying for you!

10 responses

  1. wanjiru lenana

    this is the most beautiful thing i have read… it so cute and literally brought tears to my eyes (yes i am a softy) i can not wait to see your child… she has the same name as me.. hahahaha i hope she will be as awesome as me… or even awesome-er (not a word)… give her all my love

    August 5, 2012 at 21:07

  2. wanjiru lenana

    this is the most beautiful thing i have read… it so cute and literally brought tears to my eyes (yes i am a softy) i can not wait to see your child… she has the same name as me.. hahahaha i hope she will be as awesome as me… or even awesome-er (not a word)…

    August 5, 2012 at 20:59

  3. Shawn

    wobbly penguin..nangoja kukuita either baba kimani/wanjiru..

    July 30, 2012 at 21:46

  4. mitch

    this must be an awesome experience…. I can only imagine!!

    July 30, 2012 at 16:28

  5. Gath

    Awesome stuff right there KG!! Pass my love to the wobbly penguin 😉
    Lil’

    July 30, 2012 at 16:07

    • LOL!! will do! will do!! you should come around and visit

      July 30, 2012 at 16:22

    • Dezine

      wobbly penguin is very sweet:-) yes wake him up, and share the wobbles:-)

      July 30, 2012 at 16:56

  6. Anonymous

    aaaaww shooo cute

    July 30, 2012 at 15:09

  7. Anonymous

    I just Love this sooo pweety much…..you are inspiring in every bit of the word!!!!am happy to have friends like you i pat myself on the back..saying very wise choice ehhehe…..am praying for the both of you#annonymousbodyguard #hint!!hint!! God bless you both as you await bundle of joy!!!!!the luckiest baby in the world to have parents that are loving,caring,God fearing and an example to many!!!!!huggs

    July 30, 2012 at 14:38

    • thx body guard!! keep praying for us! in prayer we stand in the gap for each other! we are also blessed to have friends like you!!

      July 30, 2012 at 14:44

Leave a Reply

