Kenyan in and around Cape Town

04-08-2012 … I will forever remember you!


I have been quiet here for about 3 weeks … and for good reason. Our daughter Gaila Wanjiru Gathua (aka Ciiru) was born on the 4th of August,2012 at 1918hours. And what a day it was. At midnight my wife woke me up saying she had some pains and was not sure what that was about. Being the novices we are, we quickly turned to my tried and tested android app “what to expect when you are expecting” for what to look out for when you are in labor. We established that the cramp like pains were actually contractions. Soon after that the water broke. The app says that this is the point where you take a quick shower, take your hospital bag and hit the road.

It is quiet and lonely on the freeway at 2am and we just drove silently at 80kph listening to our favorite Linda Randel music not knowing what to think or say to each other. We were going to have a baby. The thought refused to sink in and so we chose to sit in the “nothing” box for the duration of the 25minute drive to hospital. At the hospital we walked in half shy and even though we had done the drill before (twice) we still went via reception to ask what to do and where to go. It was here at Kings-bury hospital that the CTG machine confirmed our expectation and the sister calmly said …”you are not going home today, you are going to have a baby… daddy please go to admissions and book in mummy”

What followed was the longest day of my life!
I sat there in the labor delivery room watching my sweetheart agonize! Her back wasn’t aching so it wasn’t even useful rubbing her back and my usual humor failed me this day. I cannot begin to describe the frustration of watching your loved one go through labor pains… 2 to 3 contractions every 10minutes, and having strangers come in and take charge over your wife!! They subject her to all manner of tests while you sit and watch- helpless! 18hours later in a matter of minutes we made the call to go into theater.

The nurses promptly supplied my green uniform and my wife was moved to the the movable bed … an ER scene was unfolding in my very presence. After short call to the bathroom, a tear or 2, and a quick prayer, I washed my face and followed my wife into theater! this was the beginning of a new phase of our lives together. We were about to meet our baby. 39 weeks 4 days later, the time had come. I took my seat next to my wife on the theater table and held her hand and put on my strongest face as the cheerful surgeons begun their work … scissors!… gauze! …

A short 5 minutes later the nurse announced “baby coming out!!” and I took a deeeeep breath and stood. Time stood steel with me as my eyes were transfixed upon our baby covered in all manner of fluids … snap! snap! I fought hard to keep away my tears and followed the nurse as baby was taken to a waiting group of very professional nurses who cleaned baby and switched on the vocal chords that had waited 9 months for this moment to show their capacity as our baby let out the loudest cry I have ever heard! I then took the scissors to cut the chord as I set her free of “mummy” after 39 weeks of attachment.

She was then wrapped and handed over to a proud daddy who was shaking by this time as he slowly walked back to mummy to introduce her to our lovely daughter. Meanwhile my mind was a turmoil of emotions … anxiety, joy, tears, laughter all compounded in my head! God had blessed our union with the most adorable little girl ever and I said a prayer for her there and then to dedicate her to God Almighty to take care of her and give us wisdom to shape her character and mould her for heaven …

Like PEGGY VINCENT, (Baby Catcher) said, “This day provided the drama I craved, the thrill of peeking over the primal edge of creation, the rush of the unexpected …” In witnessing the birth of our child, I experienced the meaning of the word miracle.

Then … It’s indescribable… You hold this newborn, and you realize you’ve got responsibilities like you’ve never had before!!

The beginning of “lived happily ever after”

21 responses

  1. Babu

    Congratulations are in order.
    I was about to start asking.
    God bless the parents AND Gaila

    August 27, 2012 at 11:44

  2. Eve

    Congrats Daddy Shiro, and thank you for sharing this post. All the best to you and your wife in this new chapter! Murathimwo muno!

    August 24, 2012 at 21:23

  3. Anonymous

    Continued blessings upon you Moses and Wangechi on this incredibly awesome journey with God, the Miracle worker! We love you three!!!

    August 24, 2012 at 16:46

  4. arome

    kg,how lovely.
    God bless u guys more,now dat gives us a reason to come eat ua chapos n dengu again.hehehe.
    congrats guys

    August 23, 2012 at 12:39

    • you have to come back to Cape town Arome!! Chapati na ndengu hazijaisha!! sasa wapishi ni wengi

      August 23, 2012 at 14:43

  5. Anonymous

    Congratulations Baba Ciiru. God bless you and your family big time!!

    August 23, 2012 at 10:40

  6. melissa

    ps melissa lol

    August 21, 2012 at 21:57

  7. Anonymous

    congrats!!!!!she’s beautiful…well written story i felt every emotion..praise God.

    August 21, 2012 at 21:56

    • Thanx Mel. Waiting for you to come showcase your baby sitting skills

      August 21, 2012 at 22:24

  8. Yabusame

    HONGERA KWENU!!!! & what a piece you’ve narrated… wabe!!!! BEST WISHES to FAMILIA.

    August 21, 2012 at 21:14

    • ahsante Yabusame …! Mungu sio adhumani … au sio?!

      August 21, 2012 at 21:16

  9. Christine Kiama

    Oh wow…very well written!. And what familiar sights…I recognize the CTG tracing, the theater lights….it’s like I’m at work :-). I’m glad you guys opted for regional anesthesia…allowed you to share the joy of child birth. Hope you’re both coping just fine (the first few days/weeks can be quite an adjustment ). All the same, I know God will guide each and every step of your journey. Wishing Keshi a quick recover too.

    August 21, 2012 at 20:51

    • thanx Christine! through it all … I’ve learnt to trust in Jesus … I’ve learnt to trust in God … *singing*-
      About the adjustment … you know how you feel if you have been stitched and the wound is healing … sometimes its sore and painful but you know its part of the healing process and for your own good … but thats a post for another day- been an eventful 2 weeks going to 3

      August 21, 2012 at 21:14

  10. Gath

    Wow, no words!! I can only imagine what it felt for all three of you. Ciiru was obviously the only one who was able to express her feelings by letting out that loud cry translated ” I am here, and this is my time ”
    Enjoy the journey KG, Keshi and ofcourse little angel Ciiru..

    August 21, 2012 at 17:20

  11. Congrats Moses…may the good Lord lead you both in raising this new Princess. God bless….

    August 21, 2012 at 16:00

    • Thanks brother!

      August 21, 2012 at 16:30

  12. Anonymous

    Enjoy your Blessing! Congratulations

    August 21, 2012 at 15:59

  13. qui

    Baba ciiru, Congratulations once again…..and to my friend Keshi aka mama ciiru…..this brought me to tears. I am looking forward to meeting my little sister….with no doubt you are going to be the best parents. Lots of love

    August 21, 2012 at 12:22

  14. Ganjo

    what an experience man? may the lord God reward you and keep you all to bring up your daughter in a Godly way

    August 21, 2012 at 12:11

  15. Congradulations man

    August 21, 2012 at 11:48

Leave a Reply

