Kenyan in and around Cape Town

My little girl is 2 months today #prouddaddy


Today Ciiru is 2 months! How time flies. People tell you that babies grow fast but when you are changing diapers at 3am and singing lullabies well into the morning that sounds far-fetched. You feel like your life is a never-ending nightmare (pun intended)! It’s now been 2 months of parenting and I can say am glad its starts so difficult because things get better every day. Have I learnt anything?

Lesson 1: If she’s asleep, leave her alone

The odd thing about newborn babies is that they do not move when they’re asleep and bundled. This caused me grave concern because, being the paranoid person that I am, I thought my baby had stopped breathing and had become victim to SIDS (Sudden Infant Death Syndrome).So after she fell asleep, my wife and I would bend over her crib and try to hear her breathing, or feel her heartbeat with the palm of my hand, or try to move her – which of course would wake her up, wailing, and we would have to put her back to sleep again. And then check again if she was still alive, waking her up, and so on. An endless cycle that drove us nearly insane.

Tip: Leave her alone! Check occasionally if you’re freaked out, but generally speaking, your baby will be fine. She’ll call for you when she needs you.

Lesson 2: Teamwork and tears

My wife and I developed a system of taking turns with the baby. When I couldn’t make her stop crying, I’d pass her over. When my wife couldn’t comfort her, she’d pass the baby back to me (we still do that). But there were times when neither of us could do a thing and our mutual frustration rendered us as helpless as the infant. The baby was crying, my wife was crying, I was crying, There will be nights when there is nothing else you can do but weather out the storm. Remember that your wife is not superhuman by default, and that your role did not end when you bought the baby cot. It’s important that you both remain allies and not point a finger at each other.

Tip: It’s not wrong to feel frustrated. It’s not wrong to cry. But no matter how miserable the three of you feel, it will pass. Well, until the next time. But you will survive.

At the end of the day, when I hold my little girl in my arms and see her look at me with her big eyes, everything makes sense and my troubles melt away. Do I think of myself as a great dad? Not yet, but I’m getting there. And with a little preparation, patience, sacrifice and a lot of love, so will you.

2 responses

  1. Anonymous

    She is growing so cute!!! Big ups guys…continue the good work…parenthood is not an easy task but it is of great rewards

    October 5, 2012 at 03:46

  2. Anonymous

    Awesome! Awesome!

    October 4, 2012 at 19:47

Leave a Reply

