Kenyan in and around Cape Town

Trip down memory lane as I celebrate another birthday!


Today is my birthday. And as we often do, I reflect on how far God has brought me from a tiny little helpless baby to the man I am today. I came into the world hungry and naked but now I live my life surrounded by two beautiful women; my wife and my daughter. A lot could have happened in between but I’m here to-day because God kept me, I’m A live today only because of His grace!

So a little drive down memory lane (in picture speak)
@1 Year 1 month
Ramogi Studio or Studio … Everyone has one of these if you grew up in Nairobi
It is only when you become a parent that you realise what your parents did for you. And for that I am forever grateful to mum and dad for how much of themselves they invested in me and the sacrifices they made for this baby here!

1 Year Old

The beginnings of Formal Education: Treestar Nursery School
I clearly remember my sister coming to pick me up after school so that she could swing on our swings. Meanwhile I would be looking like this (below) with my friends Godfrey Lusanza, Paul Waweru, Thomas Mukoya, and Fredrick Ngángá

Kindergarten

NCC Riruta Satellite Primary School
Prize giving day was always a proud day for me and my mum who came for every school function there was. This was your typical City Council School where the only luxury we ever had was Maziwa ya Nyayo (free milk). But here God blessed me with some of the best teachers and because of it I became the first student to score over 600 marks (out of the possible 700) in satellite primary … but do I say!! And to proceed on to the great Mang’u High School which I had neither seen nor heard of (only that it taught Aviation)!

Prize Giving

Giving my life to God
The best decision I ever made was choosing to follow Christ.
Here I was baptised by Pr. Ndeto at the age of 14. Never looked back … the cross ever before me … the world behind me

Baptism

Mangu High School
Before joining MHS my world was informed by surroundings in Riruta Satellite. In Mangu my world opened up to the rest of Kenya. I realised that there were rich people, poor people, smarter people, people who speak english everyday (what the heck?!!) – And this was probably when I began leaving home …
In this pic here are Architects, pilots, engineers, Scientists and many other great professionals that I am proud to share the Mangu heritage with!

Form 1

JKUAT-Architecture
Here with my fellow architects including the late Fzee! When we did not even know what architecture was. Fawaz, Mumo and Joe in 1st year! Ushamba kwa wingi. Architecture has since become our bread and butter ..

1st Year

The rest of my life
And we lived happily ever after!!
My most brilliant achievement was my ability to be able to persuade my wife to marry me. She is my confidante, my helpmate, my friend. My lover. She is everything the word wife means to me. In my heart, we are wed. In my soul, she is mine.

And Ciiru … Thank you for opening up that childishness in me again!!

_MG_8583

So today am older … and happier!!
And thanks to my dear wife once again in my life birthdays don’t come and go un-noticed! Mwaaah … love you sweetheart!!

9 responses

  1. Naomi

    Congatulations your baby is very beautiful and all grown up. Twaz nice reading your blog and seeing you after a long time, saw you guys last on your wedding. God Bless.

    July 30, 2013 at 12:05

  2. Anonymous

    Happy belated birthday Moses, you surely have come a long way. Looking down memory lane is a sure good way to spend your birthday. With reflection comes insight and a reminder of who you are as a person, and what God has been in your life. Esther and Iwosh you many more years full of blessings.

    Taurai & Esther Jamu

    March 14, 2013 at 21:15

    • Thank you Taurai. When we look back we can see how far God has brought us.
      God bless you and your loved one!

      March 15, 2013 at 15:02

  3. Happy belated birthday. That photo with kina Mumo and Nzomo and Fawaz. Yaani hata I can’t believe it. Watu huchange sana.

    March 6, 2013 at 01:17

  4. Anonymous

    Happy Bday Big Bro..May God bless you with many more years ahead 🙂

    February 15, 2013 at 16:37

  5. Yabusame

    safi sana!!!!

    February 15, 2013 at 15:14

  6. Joe and Beryl

    Happy birthday Moses. The Lord is faithful and He will guide you till He comes! I believe you will see His face dear brother. You and your household! Be blessed ever so abundantly that those blessings may overflow to the lives of others.
    Happy Birthday from Mfalme & Malkia
    Joe & Beryl Nyamwange.

    February 15, 2013 at 15:12

    • Joe and Beryl

      Your baby picture is quite SIMILAR to Ciiru’s! picture peeeerrrrfffeeecccttttt!

      February 15, 2013 at 15:14

    • You are ever so kind with your words!! Thank you! I know we will be in heaven together by the Saviour’s side

      February 15, 2013 at 15:16

Leave a Reply

