Kenyan in and around Cape Town

7 … the number of completion


Today my wife and I turn 7 months as parents. And for the first time in my life I really do care about the outcome of the Kenya General Election. I was in Kenya during the 2007/08 post election violence and would not like to see what happened then repeated. Being in the diaspora, obviously I have no vote but I care about the Kenya I will one day be bring my children to. Whoever wins, I hope they will deliver on their pre-election promises… whatever they are. They are always good anyway.

Meanwhile, Ciiru is 7 months today- how fast time flies … it was 6 months just the other day! And look what she can do … She Turns towards sounds and voices, imitates sounds, rolls in both directions, reaches for objects and mouths them and sits without support!Am afraid soon she will crawling … then all hell will break loose 🙂

i seat

She is also getting cheeky and enjoys playing ‘picaboo'(A game for a small child in which one covers one’s face, then revealing it and saying Boo! or Peekaboo!) … my diction grows everyday … what did we used to call it anyway?!. She now understands that when you are out of sight you don”t cease to exist … and so when she cant see you she starts looking for you in anticipation.

i peep

Ciiru is also reaching for things with a sweeping motion and is Imitating speech sounds (babbles) and is Banging objects together. One author had the guts to suggest home implements are very useful at this stage … pots and pans and all such utensils. Our home is slowly turning into a bedlam of noise …
Gwen's Lensw

In the last 7 months I have seen my wife transform literally right before my eyes. I wish I could do a time lapse … I have seen her move from girlfriend to wife to mum with such grace that I say “thank you God” at every thought of her. Ciiru is lucky to have such a mum and am blessed to have her for a wife!

i cool

So here’s to the coolest wife … and I can speak for Ciiru … “here’s to the coolest mum!!”

Tourist mum

5 responses

  1. I discovered your blog via Mutua Matheka’s blog.
    Your love for the Lord and your family is amazing! and they say Kenyan men are not all that, please! they should read this blog! #sitakimzungu

    April 11, 2013 at 09:49

  2. Anonymous

    I can’t believe how time flies. You have a beautiful family indeed.

    March 7, 2013 at 18:49

  3. wambui

    lovely!….about the game, I think it was known as “MA!”

    March 4, 2013 at 22:30

    • that must have been the kikuyu version of that game!

      March 5, 2013 at 09:46

Leave a Reply

